DPF Peace Awards

The Will Wittkamper Peace Award
The Todd Robert Bratkovich Award

Disciples Peace Fellowship has two peace awards: The Will Wittkamper Peace Award, given for a lifetime of commitment to peace and justice and the Todd Robert Bratkovich Award, given to a young person or group. Each is awarded at the General Assembly of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ).


The Will Wittkamper Award is given by the Disciples Peace Fellowship (DPF) in recognition of a lifetime commitment to peace and justice. The award, given every two years since 1981, is named for Will Wittkamper, a Disciples pastor who was active in the struggle for racial equality in the mid-twentieth century in the United States. Rev. Wittkamper was a strong supporter of Clarence Jordan at the interracial community Koinonia Farms in Americus, Georgia.

1981 Harold Edward Fey
1983 Rosa Page Welsh
1985 Joseph Boone Hunter
1987 Barton Hunter
1989 Elizabeth (Nellie) Kratz
1991 Parker Frank Wilson
1993 Vera G. and A.C. Cuppy
1995 Thomas Jackson (TJ) Liggett
1997 A. Garnett Day
1999 Dorothy Hunter
2001 Lois and Rhodes Thompson
2003 Robert L. and Adelle E. Lemon
2005 Lucas Torres
2007 Russ and Barbara Fuller
2009 Ian McCrae
2011 Pablo Stone
2013 Carol Q Cosby 
2015 Kenneth Kennon
2017 Jon & Melba Lacey
2019 Rita Nakashima Brock and Minta Colburn


Established in 2001, the Bratkovich Award is given to a young member or members of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) whose efforts, like those of Todd, have been characterized by early actions for peace and justice. The award honors Todd Bratkovich of Edmond, Oklahoma whose passion for peace defined his short life. Todd was a compassionate young man: he was a dreamer but didn’t wait until he was “grown up” to start living out his dreams. A small stipend encourages ongoing peacemaking.

2003 Isaac R. Graves
2005 New Covenant Christian Church Youth Group, Houston, Texas
2007 All Peoples Christian Center, Los Angeles, California
2009 Krista Johnson
2013 Youth Empowered to Serve, Journey of Faith Christian Church, Ann Arbor, MI
2015 Chrissy Stonebraker-Martinez 
2017 Youth Immersion Ministry of the Pacific Southwest Region 
2019 Nia Sullivan